Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search





Available copies

  • 2 of 2 copies available at BC Interlibrary Connect. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Castlegar Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Castlegar Public Library FIC RAI (Text) 35146002073484 Fiction Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780525508779
  • Physical Description: 386 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [2017]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer - for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding. After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed. Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her.
Subject: Families > Fiction.
Sports > Fiction.
Identity (Psychology) > Fiction.
Coming of age > Fiction.

Additional Resources