Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search





Available copies

  • 6 of 8 copies available at BC Interlibrary Connect. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Castlegar Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 8 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Castlegar Public Library FIC POW (Text) 35146002078905 Fiction Volume hold Checked out 12/27/2018

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781501181221
  • ISBN: 9781501193118 [trade paperback]
  • Physical Description: 291 pages ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First Gallery Books hardcover edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Gallery Books, 2018.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel "with a slight Broadchurch feel" (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothersand daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty's world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London's press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by oneof the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher--and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is withimpropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives--and the life of an innocent man--forever. With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Man-woman relationships > Fiction.
Life change events > Fiction.
Genre: Psychological fiction.
Suspense fiction.

Additional Resources